East Riding Of Yorkshire Council(Associate)

Website: http://www.eastriding.gov.uk

East Riding of Yorkshire Council is a unitary authority which means that all local council services are provided by the same council. This is different to other parts of the country where responsibility is shared between a county council and a local district or borough council. The East Riding is divided into 26 wards, each of which is represented by one or more councillors (also known as members). East Riding of Yorkshire Council covers approximately 930 square miles, making it one of the largest unitary authorities in the country. The East Riding is a predominately rural area with over half the population living in dispersed rural communities. In total, there are 333 settlements, ranging from large towns to small, isolated hamlets and farmsteads. The largest town in the East Riding is Bridlington, other major settlements are Beverley, Goole and the Haltemprice area to the west of Hull which includes Cottingham, Hessle and Anlaby/Willerby/Kirkella. The East Riding is generally an affluent area and is ranked amongst the least socially deprived area in England. In terms of housing, the relative affordability of the area means a high proportion of households are owner/occupiers.